Bimota Forum Forum Index Bimota Forum
Forum for Bimota Owners and Riders
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  

carb cleaning
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Bimota Forum Forum Index -> SB Series
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
brian



Joined: 22 Aug 2011
Posts: 2697
Location: QLD, Australia

PostPosted: Thu Mar 16, 2017 10:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mk2sean wrote:
Haha. I think I must have a different type of sb6r to you lot. My inlet stubs dont have any holes other than number two which has the vacume feed to the fuel pump. This has now been capped and the fuel pump removed.
Also I have now put the new fuel lines in. I have a single feed from the petcock into the airbox. Then it goes into the two out filter. I have it as vertical as I can get it. From here I have equal length lines run up to the air box outlets between cylinders 1 and 2 and also 3 and 4. There is no way I could run the lines under the carbs on the left hand side unless I was to make another hole in the airbox. I have tried to ensure that the lines are never higher than the outlet of the tank.


EC and I both have SB6's rather than 6r's. Same carbs I believe but different airbox setup.
_________________
Current motorcycles - '99 Bimota DB4, '96 Bimota SB6, '08 VTX1800, '93 ZXR750R M1, '95 ZXR750, '95 ZXR750 Race Bike, 94 CBR400rr NC29 Race Bike, '94 CB250, '49 BSA C10 250, 61 BSA A10 650
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
mk2sean



Joined: 04 Apr 2016
Posts: 36
Location: Scotland

PostPosted: Thu Mar 16, 2017 11:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Excellent Brian. Big day tomorrow. Might be an sb6r for sale tomorrow as spares or repair lol
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mk2sean



Joined: 04 Apr 2016
Posts: 36
Location: Scotland

PostPosted: Thu Mar 16, 2017 11:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do you think it will be fine without the fuel pump getting the fuel up to the carb bowls seeing that it will have to travel a little higher.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jonny B Bad



Joined: 05 Dec 2009
Posts: 408
Location: NE London

PostPosted: Fri Mar 17, 2017 11:01 am    Post subject: SB6R Reply with quote

Your SB6R will run fine with gravity feed, right down to the last litre.
_________________
What, Jonny's gone!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mk2sean



Joined: 04 Apr 2016
Posts: 36
Location: Scotland

PostPosted: Fri Mar 17, 2017 12:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Update. It is now running. However, its idle is up at about 3000 with no choke at all. I more or less shut the choke as soon as it fired up. Also as soon as I touch the throttle it revs at the revs the throttle was twisted to and holds there.

HELP!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vort28



Joined: 22 Mar 2010
Posts: 1882
Location: Northwest , UK

PostPosted: Fri Mar 17, 2017 1:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have you balanced carbs and adjusted throttle cables correctly ?
Are the throttle cables getting caught on something ?
Have you put push pull cables of throttle on correct way around ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mk2sean



Joined: 04 Apr 2016
Posts: 36
Location: Scotland

PostPosted: Fri Mar 17, 2017 2:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I was just going to disconnect the cables now and try it then. Have not made any adjustments to settings yet. Wanted to check cables first.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mk2sean



Joined: 04 Apr 2016
Posts: 36
Location: Scotland

PostPosted: Fri Mar 17, 2017 2:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I was just going to disconnect the cables now and try it then. Have not made any adjustments to settings yet. Wanted to check cables first.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mk2sean



Joined: 04 Apr 2016
Posts: 36
Location: Scotland

PostPosted: Fri Mar 17, 2017 2:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Woohoo!! Adjusted the pull cable. Now needs choke to start from cold . Runs with choke shut. Revs fine. Running on all 4 ( all 4 headers cannot be touched ) . Gonna balance them tomorrow and adjust idle speed a little if required.
cant thank you all enough for your help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Evilchicken0



Joined: 12 May 2010
Posts: 2792
Location: London

PostPosted: Fri Mar 17, 2017 2:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ah - my bike's the SB6 - I don't use vacuum gauges I have a air mass meter
_________________
Don't read everything you believe
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mk2sean



Joined: 04 Apr 2016
Posts: 36
Location: Scotland

PostPosted: Fri Mar 17, 2017 3:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

As it happens the ports for the vacume gauges are very easy access. Again, thanks for all the help abd advice lads. Its very much appreciated.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Evilchicken0



Joined: 12 May 2010
Posts: 2792
Location: London

PostPosted: Sat Mar 18, 2017 5:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here's my little problem. The old seal on the floats had shrunk and the carbs floated. The new ones don't squash into the hole (technical innit) so it looks like this, the floats haven't located. The new seal is green.


The carbs don't flood but the bike pops if I throttle off
Suggestions ?
_________________
Don't read everything you believe
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mk2sean



Joined: 04 Apr 2016
Posts: 36
Location: Scotland

PostPosted: Sat Mar 18, 2017 6:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mine were tight to go in. I pushed until I felt resistance to pull them out. The innuendos possible here are plentiful! !
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Evilchicken0



Joined: 12 May 2010
Posts: 2792
Location: London

PostPosted: Sun Mar 19, 2017 9:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mine won't locate and mess with the float height
_________________
Don't read everything you believe
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mk2sean



Joined: 04 Apr 2016
Posts: 36
Location: Scotland

PostPosted: Sun Mar 19, 2017 10:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Could you try swapping them around to see if others fit better in other holes or is that not advisable? If you are setting float heights anyway surely it wont matter. I take it your seal kit came from Thailand too? Worth ordering another set to see if its any different?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Bimota Forum Forum Index -> SB Series All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Page 4 of 6

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

The Bimota Forum has no official connection to Bimota S.p.A.. We just ride or are interested in their motorcycles and support the brand. All trademarks are acknowledged