Bimota Forum Forum Index Bimota Forum
Forum for Bimota Owners and Riders

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  

New member with Yb9SRI
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Fulvia-hf

PostPosted: Mon Mar 27, 2017 9:52 pm    Post subject: New member with Yb9SRI Reply with quote

Hello, I'm new to the Bimota Forum although I'm not new to Bimota. I had a Yb4ie a few years ago which I sold to NZ some years after. I bought an SB2 in parts waiting to be restored but couldn't resist a YB9SRI I saw advertised on Dutch marktplaats.nl. The guy accepted my lowish offer and granted me his ride. the bike is in fine fettle. No accident damage but a few mechanical things I would like to have your opinion about.
The fuel filler is missing the pull and turn flap. is this common (that they break) and are there spares availabe? There is no pillion seatover below the seatcover. Last but not least, the owner before the last owner ditched the injection system for a set of Keihin FRC33 flatside carbs. He lost the filterbox but fittted ramair filtersocks over the nice blue plastic bell mouths.
the bike rides nice and strong but idle is initially high but drops after a few minutes of idling after which the bike stalls if you don't save it. Sounds like a rich mixture. Cold starting there is no need for a choke (it doesn't have one, just an idle adjustment screw) Is this a racing carb 'feature' to get used to or can it be adjusted out?
I notice the rev counter overreads with 7000 rpm at slightly over 60mph. and the temp gauge pointer starts behaving like a windscreenwiper when the revs go up.
Cheers,
William
Evilchicken0

PostPosted: Mon Mar 27, 2017 10:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote