Bimota Forum Forum Index Bimota Forum
Forum for Bimota Owners and Riders
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  

DB6R set up

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Bimota Forum Forum Index -> DB Series
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Paul777



Joined: 14 Feb 2014
Posts: 17
Location: Derby

PostPosted: Mon Sep 17, 2018 5:18 pm    Post subject: DB6R set up Reply with quote

It's about time my 2010 DB6R with the 1100 DS motor received some attention regarding set up. It's never idled probably, runs so rich it makes your eyes water within 20 seconds if you stand close by it's running so rich. Does anyone know where might be a good place to have manipulate/replace/modify the ECU and associated settings. Is the ECU common with the equivalent Ducati?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vort28



Joined: 22 Mar 2010
Posts: 2050
Location: Northwest , UK

PostPosted: Mon Sep 17, 2018 7:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

DB series of this era all run Bimota specific ECU's.
Depends on the clocks is a good indication as to which ECU ,( Koso ) on the DB6 , not so straight cut on the DB5.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Paul777



Joined: 14 Feb 2014
Posts: 17
Location: Derby

PostPosted: Tue Sep 18, 2018 10:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just spoke to Mark Brewin at BSD performance regarding set up and Dyno work and he said Bimotas are 'a nightmare' (obviously), and the best thing to do would be to drop it off to see if he could break into the ECU. I sort of expected that to be honest although I'm hoping that someone knows of a place that has all the connectors/diagnostic kit/expertise to offer a plug and play solution.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mick



Joined: 10 May 2015
Posts: 46

PostPosted: Tue Sep 18, 2018 4:50 pm    Post subject: DB6r set up Reply with quote

I would check your lambada sensor first, easy to replace. I assume the cat.converter isn't bunged up. (took mine off) I would also check the air filter.
The ecu would be the last port of call.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Looka



Joined: 27 Dec 2016
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Mon Mar 25, 2019 8:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Bikes with Walbro ECU (black dashboard) che be reprogrammed using the TEXA NAVIGATOR TXB (https://www.texa.it/prodotti/navigator-txts) + the specific cable.

Some operations, not much indeed, can be done using the bimota software.
Of course the software and cable are not sold anymore but one can built the cable (it's very easy) and find copy of the software (just ask).

btw, my DB6 did run very rich because of bad setting of the TPS. This was solved using the bimota software.

cheers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lobomau



Joined: 18 Oct 2018
Posts: 34
Location: Porto - Portugal

PostPosted: Thu Mar 28, 2019 1:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Looka wrote:
...
one can built the cable (it's very easy) ....

... .


Looka,

If you are refering to the cable for ECU Pegasu,
I would be very happy if you can inform how to build one.
I got the software, but still strugling with the cable issue.

Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Looka



Joined: 27 Dec 2016
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Fri Mar 29, 2019 10:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

lobomau wrote:
Looka wrote:
...
one can built the cable (it's very easy) ....

... .


Looka,

If you are refering to the cable for ECU Pegasu,
I would be very happy if you can inform how to build one.
I got the software, but still strugling with the cable issue.

Thanks.


No sorry, I only know how to make the cable for Walbro ECU, however I might have some tips that I have learned in the process.

Serial connections have 3 "wires", ground, Rx (receiving) and Tx (transmitting). Making my cable for walbroo ECU I had a lot of problems with the USB/RS232 converter. Eventually, I asked a friend who came with an oscilloscope and I have learned that if one sticks the oscilloscope to the ECU plug it is very easy to understand which are the Rx and Tx channels (wires).
Same thing doing it on the computer side.
This should make possible to understand how to connect the cables...

I hope it helps.

Luca
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Bimota Forum Forum Index -> DB Series All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

The Bimota Forum has no official connection to Bimota S.p.A.. We just ride or are interested in their motorcycles and support the brand. All trademarks are acknowledged